Change a child's life this Ramadan

What is Zakat?

Zakat is one of the five pillars of Islam, and it refers to the act of giving to charity. It is an obligatory act of worship for Muslims who are financially able to do so. The term “zakat” is derived from the Arabic word meaning “purification” or “growth,” and it is meant to purify one’s wealth and grow one’s spirituality.

Muslims are required to give 2.5% of their excess wealth to those in need, including the poor, the needy, and those who are struggling financially. Zakat can be given directly to individuals, to organizations that distribute funds to the needy, or to the mosque for distribution.

“…and those in whose wealth there is a recognised right, for the needy and deprived” (Qur’an 70:24-5)

Once a year, eligible Muslims are required to pay Zakat which becomes due once they meet or exceed the Nisab, a specific amount of wealth. The Zakat paid by each Muslim is then distributed to those who meet the criteria to receive it. At Islamic Relief, we take great care to distribute your Zakat in the most responsible and compassionate way possible, ensuring that the most vulnerable, including children and those impacted by war, disease, and climate disasters, receive the necessary assistance they need.

Narrated Abu Huraira:

Allah’s Apostle said, “Whoever is made wealthy by Allah and does not pay the Zakat of his wealth, then on the Day of Resurrection his wealth will be made like a bald-headed poisonous male snake with two black spots over the eyes.

A Circle Shape
About Albaraka Welfare Trust UK

Are you looking for a meaningful way to give back to society and make a difference in the lives of those in need? Consider giving Zakat to help children in need! Your Zakat can provide these children with access to basic necessities such as food, shelter, and education.

Call Us Anytime

What is Nisab?

Nisab is an Arabic term used in Islamic finance and refers to the minimum amount of wealth or assets that a Muslim must possess before they are obligated to pay Zakat, which is a form of charitable giving in Islam.

The amount of nisab is determined by the current value of gold and silver, and it changes over time depending on fluctuations in the market. In general, nisab is equivalent to the value of 3 ounces of gold or 21 ounces of silver.

Once a Muslim’s wealth or assets reach or exceed the nisab threshold, they are required to pay 2.5% of their total wealth as Zakat. This is an important obligation for Muslims, as it is considered one of the Five Pillars of Islam and is a means of purifying one’s wealth and helping those in need.

The Nisab threshold is the minimum amount of wealth that a Muslim needs to have before they are obligated to pay Zakat.
Gold and silver
 are the two values used to calculate the Nisab threshold. The Nisab is the value of 87.48 grams of gold or 612.36 grams of silver.

Donate Your Zakat: Your donations enable us to save lives

When you donate Zakat to our organization, you are making a crucial contribution to our mission of saving lives. Your Zakat donation enables us to provide critical assistance to those in need, including food, shelter, medical care, and other essential services.

Through your generosity, we are able to support vulnerable individuals and families who are struggling to make ends meet, particularly during times of crisis or disaster. Your Zakat donation can help us provide emergency relief to those affected by natural disasters, conflict, or other humanitarian emergencies.

Donate to charity causes around the world.

Signup for Alerts

Sign up for Alerts to get the latest news and events sent to your inbox!

Quick Donate